Judgment Coming

Weekly Sabbath Survey
Judgment Coming — 12-17-2016
Now that Trump is elected I have noticed a euphoria among the conservative middle class similar to what poorer people felt when Obama was elected. One guy called it “Trumphoria.”  And here we go again, left, right, left, right. The faithful and the foolish (including myself) wanting this latest “messiah” to SAVE our nation.
I do think Trump may help or “fix” some things. But it will be as it is every time—a Bandaid on a cancer. This time I felt compelled by our Lord God to refuse to be fooled or lulled. I’m reading my Bible and other revelatory literature on Christian history and our government. I SEE a slow train coming ’round the bend. God doesn’t get in a rush. He has been blowing the whistle and ringing the bell for years. But we stick our fingers in our ears and pray “If my people . . .”  We’ve had years of extreme grace preaching and falsified national prosperity supplied by ‘The Fed.’  No wonder we think we’re OK!
Am I an alarmist?  Yes!  I believe what I see calls for alarm. I am a watchman. Night Watchmen look for and SEE danger. They sound the alarm to warn the sleeping people. How close is the train?  Ten years away?  A hundred years?  I don’t know. But my spirit feels it near. I know, I know—people have said this for years. But one day, it is going to be right on. By then it may be too late to do much. The Babylonians are coming for the just and unjust. See message below by Gary Wilkerson, son of David Wilkerson.
    Judgment – I am not accustomed to writing messages on this subject, and you may be surprised by this one. I prepared it with great reservations; in fact, it took me far beyond my comfort zone, even though I am dedicated to preaching the whole counsel of God. Right now I am compelled to speak because of something I see happening in our culture. I have grown convinced that America now stands on the brink of one of the most extreme judgments it has ever faced. And in this bleak hour God has something to say to His Church.
When I grew up, it wasn’t unusual to hear this kind of difficult message in the denomination my family was part of. Occasionally I heard my father preach on the subject of judgment. What I’m talking about is a prophetic message (although my dad was adamant about not being called a prophet). He said he was a
“watchman.”  These days I better appreciate the messages my dad preached and the anguish they caused him. I know he spent hours wrestling with God over the difficult sermons he delivered. As a pastor, I appreciate A. W. Tozer´s lesson that God loves to speak to the man or woman who loves to listen. Yet I fear the church has lost that practice. God wants to speak to us, but our ear is inclined less and less to His voice and more to the world´s. The Bible calls this condition a famine of the Word of God (see Amos 8:11) – a lack of knowledge of God and His ways. In times of chaos He will use the famine to get our attention and He has my full attention right now! And if He is speaking hard messages to grace-oriented pastors such as I am, it tells me He is up to something.  
If this message above moves your heart with surprise, sorrow or fear, here are 5 things from the Bible to prepare for what is coming. 1) Be humble and repentant! Ask God to change you. 2) Be watchful. There is a crown promised for those who look for the Lord’s appearing. 3) Be faithful. Do not eat and drink with the drunkards. 4) Be prepared like the wise virgins. 5) Be fruitful. A spiritual life produces spiritual fruit. (If you are interested in an elaboration of what these 5 things might entail, let me know.)
There shall come a day that the watchmen upon Mount Ephraim shall cry, “Arise ye, and let us go up to Zion unto the Lord our God.”  Jeremiah 31: 6 
Jewish rabbis teach that a reference to Ephraim like this symbolizes God-fearing Gentiles. This verse in Jeremiah confirms to them that Christian tourism in Israel was ordained by God a very long time ago. They see us as watchmen. Would to God we Christians could believe our Bible like they do!

 

Charlene Reams Manning, Believer in the Lord Jesus Messiah                                                     
Copyright  November 2016
WSS’s are posted and archived for viewing

 

Leave a Reply

