I Go to the Rock

Weekly Sabbath Survey
I Go To The Rock —  11-12-2016

 

Even in the lives of the strongest faithful Believers there are events or situations that call on the last ounce of reserve energy just to get through one day at a time. Health issues, family crisis, employment problems, overdo bills, maxed out credit cards, the list goes on and on. In all the things that I have in my own life or have seen in the lives of others, one thing really puzzles me:  How is it we will try ANYTHING and EVERYTHING before we will just trust the Lord God? And why is it that prayer is not the first thing we do, it’s our last resort?  
It was December 28, 1995. I found myself alone, self-supporting, with no job. I sat in my comfy chair with my fire place warming me, my dogs near by, feeling like I was one step away from homeless. I was so weary of the battle. I rehearsed in God’s ears all that had gone wrong for me. It wasn’t really praying. It was a “Pity Party.” Then, I heard a familiar voice with great authority ask, “When are you going to trust ME? What must I do to take care of you so you will NOT push the panic button every time things go wrong?” I was stunned into silence. He went on, “Every time you’ve lost a job, the next one was better—more money, better benefits. You never missed a house payment. I taught you to stretch a penny and humble yourself by shopping at resale stores so you never looked shabby.” I cried and cried. Finally, “WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO TRUST ME?”  I sobbed, “Now, Lord, Now!! I’m going to trust you NOW.” 
I was let go from my job right after Christmas. My meltdown. Then, that pep talk from God. I launched into my routine for when I was jobless. I sang and thanked God for taking care of me. I looked in the classified ads for openings at law firms, sent resumes, signed up for unemployment and with my temp agency. I was sure I would get a job quickly. I was trusting Jesus. So, for the entire next year of 1996, 12 whole months, I had 3-4 interviews, no job offers, worked temporary and drew unemployment when I had no work. It wasn’t fun, but I got by and I kept myself (most of the time) sunny side up. I kept trusting God. (Much later, I looked back and realized the Lord had given me a year’s vacation—-a rest I really needed!)
I began to realize if I really REALLY trusted God, I didn’t need to fight and struggle. Just do what I could and leave the rest to Him. I wondered why it had taken me so long to see this. I got my next job in January 1997. I interviewed with a paralegal. For some reason there wasn’t a single attorney available that day so she stepped in to meet with me. She also hired me on the spot, subject to the attorney’s approval. He approved me, sight unseen! This was the best job of my legal career in San Antonio. The Lord put this fine Christian lady in my path, and she is STILL my friend 20 years later. What a God!!!
How often I see others going everywhere for help except to the ONE who is our help, our comfort, our salvation, our shelter from the storm, our healer, our provider! I did that running around everywhere in panic thing myself. I can attest to the futility of it. The only true source of every good and perfect thing we ever got is just waiting for us to ASK HIM, and TRUST HIM, and then be thankful when the answer comes. Here’s a helpful hint: I have had more times of testing the strength of my understanding of what I learned that day! Those tests are never easy, but my trust grows stronger each time.
Years ago we sang a song, written by Dottie Rambo. It celebrates the truth of what I have said here. It testifies of my own experience in God.  I Go To The Rock.  click below.
Blessed art Thou, O Lord our God, King of the Universe, who meets all our needs and has given us all we need for life and Godliness.   Amen. 

 

Charlene Reams Manning, Believer in the Lord Jesus Messiah                                                     
Copyright  July 2016
WSS’s are posted and archived for viewing

 

Leave a Reply

