God’s Timing

 

Weekly Sabbath Survey
God’s Timing —  6-18-2016
A great deal is said in the Bible about waiting for God. The lesson cannot be re-enforced too often. We get impatient, and much trouble in life comes out of our restless, sometimes reckless, haste. We cannot wait for the fruit to ripen, but insist on plucking it while it is green. We cannot wait for the answers to our prayers, although the things we ask for may require long years in their preparation. We are exhorted to walk with God, but often times God walks very slowly. ~copied
The above quote is so very true!  There’s something in the Bible called, “The fullness of time.” It’s the exact, “right” time. Most of us learn about this the hard way! We went through the God-In-the Box drive-through, put in our order. In our youthful exuberance, we rushed ahead, sometimes trying to drag others with us. We may have seen our more prayerful, thoughtful friends as not ‘getting it.’  We pressed on, sowing in fields that were not even plowed! The going was tough but we never knew it was because we were way ahead of God!  It’s never easy to serve Him, but it is much easier if He is with us when we do!
When I was a 50-year-old divorced woman, I was pitifully lonely. I wanted someone to grow old with!  I prayed and tried to not interfere with God’s process. I did a couple of blind dates. Went to a meeting of singles over 50. I was the youngest person there. Next, to the group for younger singles, mostly divorced. I was the oldest person there. Never went back to either. In time I saw the need to move on and stop trying to make things happen. I read the testimony of a widow in similar circumstances. Her friends did her like mine, told her she would never find a husband sitting around at home. “Get yourself out there!”  But she said, like I did, “If God wants me to have a husband, He can bring him to my door!”  Crazy, huh??
With money her husband left her, she decided to remodel her home, update things. She asked around at church and someone gave her the name of a reputable Christian man who did such work. She said, “He came to my door, and essentially, never left!”  He took a special interest in the remodel job. His workers came, but he was there at least once every day. They began to eat lunch together. When the kitchen is torn up, he took her out. By the time the job was about to wrap, it seemed he was not ready to end his association with this fine woman. So he proposed, she accepted, and they married within a couple of months. 
I was encouraged by that story. I was active in life at that time, singing in the church choir, self-supporting and at real peace for the first time in a long while. I knew I was going to be OK. Trust in God was higher than it had been in my whole life. And, then, one evening, my phone rang. A voice from the distant past said, “Hi, Charlie. Do you know who this is?”  Yes, I did know. And, the rest is Manning Family History.
All this to say, we must leave things to the Lord. We must learn patience. He really does know what He is doing. And for Pete’s sake, BE HAPPY. I have said, and meant it, “Lord if I never (get or do whatever it is I was praying for), it’s OK. I love You. I trust You. I believe what you have for me is better than what I could find for myself.”  Learning to wait is a spiritual exercise. It makes your faith muscle stronger!
A preacher woman mentor of mine told me about 35 years ago, “The Lord promised He would meet my needs. So, I figure, if I don’t have it, I don’t need it.”  I never knew anyone with more things plopped in their lap than this gal!  People gave her clothes, jewelry, furniture, cars, paid for trips, and cash. Out of His treasure, God caused His people to bless her. She told me once she had a craving for steak. They had a hamburger budget, so steak was a luxury. That day she was out driving along and saw a cardboard box lying in the median of the road. She felt compelled to check it out. She thought, “No telling what might be in that box.”  She pulled over, jumped out and got the box and found a dozen freezer wrapped steaks marked “Sirloin.”  They were still frozen. There was no receipt or other way to identify where the box came from. But she knew where. She busted out bawling, thanking God for His great love. That night, her family of six ate steak.   
Jacob loved Rachel. He said, I will serve Laban seven years for Rachel. Those years seemed to him just a few days, because of the love he had for her.  Genesis 29:18, 20 

 

Charlene Reams Manning, Believer in the Lord Jesus Messiah                                                     
Copyright  January 2016
WSS’s are posted and archived for viewing

 

Leave a Reply

