Born Again

 

Weekly Sabbath Survey
Born Again —  4-16-2016
Several years ago I was in  conversation with friends about our obligations as Christians, how we should be doing this and that. One ‘friend’ said with disgust, “Well, if these “Born Again” Christians would stop running around telling everybody what to do . . . ”  I don’t remember what else was said, but it wasn’t good. This guy was a lifelong member of a denominational church. I was rightly stunned by the opening line, and sat in silence. He was 20 years my senior, and we were in the home of another friend. I felt I should not disrespect an elder, or fuss with my host’s guest. We knew each other well enough that this was a dart just for me. It was the first time I was shamed me to my face for being Born Again. It seems absurd now that a person who was in church their whole life didn’t know “Ye must be born again.” [John 3:7]
When I was Born Again, I didn’t know much about it, but I did know Jesus and was ready to give my 13 year old life to Him. Afterwards, I knew I was different. I never lost that feeling, and was vocal about my faith as a teen, although pretty ignorant about it, too. My quest for further understanding began at age 33, when I started to actually READ the Bible. When I came across Jesus with Nicodemus, I was fascinated that Jesus seemed to say that Nick should have known about being Born Again. (And I thought the Baptists invented it!!)  It is obvious Jesus was not thinking Nick should have some prior knowledge requiring him to convert to a new religion (Christianity). So this whole born again thing had to have been a Jewish belief. It followed that being Born Again may not mean exactly or only what we have been taught all our lives.
[This is further proof that Christianity should NOT be separate from the Jewish people or the Jewish faith. Historically, Jews have been tolerated and/or despised the world over, so it isn’t hard to understand why the church in Roman times decided we needed to stamp out anything associated with those people. But if we are in Jesus, folks, we are knee deep in Judaism and blood kin to the Jews whether we like it or not and whether they like it or not. Anyone who claims to love Jesus and hates the Jewish people across the street, is in a seriously dangerous deception.]
In intense study, I was surprised where the Lord took me eventually. I don’t have all the Scriptures or references the Lord used to show all this to me, so I will just tell it like I remember it. Have you ever heard the term “Baby Christian”? It’s more true than I had ever imagined! What we call “Born Again” is really more like being conceived again. Because we were conceived the first time with Adam’s blood line, we have to be corrected in our blood (DNA?) so that we are acceptable to God (made righteous). Something happened to our blood when Adam and Eve ate the fruit. It takes the sinless blood of Jesus to make us right, so our bloodline goes back to Him, the second “Adam.” 
When I accepted Jesus those many years ago, I was ‘conceived’ again. My life on Earth was like being in a womb of sorts, developing in my understanding. I have floated along and bumped around these many years, surrounded by the Holy Spirit waters, growing and changing and protected, just like an unborn baby.
One thing I learned in this study is that the baby’s hearing is finished in the last stage. I have been hearing the Lord lately like I never have before. And I think I’m faintly hearing that trumpet call. Soon I will be Born Again into the Kingdom of God, start my new life for real! I will behold the Lord, my Father. I’m looking forward to it!  Paul said this:  For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality.  [1 Corinthians 15:52-53]. On that day we will become, in fact, that which we already are by faith. As my studies persisted, I found this teaching about ‘Born Again’ and resurrected into a our new life, was not only present in Judaism when Jesus taught it, but is still taught in some groups of Jewish people today.
I offer all these thoughts prayerfully. Please know, I don’t share these things lightly.
Nicodemus said to Him, “How can these things be?”  Yeshua answered, “Are you a master of Israel (an expert rabbi, a Torah teacher), and you don’t know these things!?”  John 3:9-10

 

Charlene Reams Manning, Believer in the Lord Yeshua Messiah                                              Copyright November 2015
The WSS’s are posted and archived for viewing

 

Leave a Reply

