Life: Act Two

Weekly Sabbath Survey

Life: Act Two — 12-27-2014

Well, friends, here we are galloping toward the year 2015, when I had just gotten used to ’14!! Time has a way of moving very fast and catching us unawares . It seems like no time since I was a teenage bride embarking on my new life with my husband. I wonder where all the years went. I know that I lived them all. I have glimpses of how it was back then, and of all my hopes and dreams, the things we did as a family.

But, here I am … square into Act Two of my life. And it has sort of caught me by surprise. How did I get here so fast? Where did my youth go? And, who are these very tall, handsome grown men who are calling me “Mom”? Where are my precious little boys, who had me running around all day, and hugged me so tight at bedtime?

I remember so well seeing old people through the years and thinking one day I will be like them, but I was too young and that time was so far off that even at 50 years old, I could not see myself as old. But, here it is: My old high school mates are all retired and gray. (If they have quit dying their hair). We all move a bit slower than we once did. Some are in better and some in worse shape than I am, but I see the great change in us all. We are not like the people in our memory who were young and vibrant and held the promise of the future. The years are showing and we are now those older folks that we used to observe, and hoped to push that time for us far, far away.

Each day now, I get up trying to say “Good Morning, Lord” instead of “Good Lord! Morning.” I do my morning chicken chores at first light and enjoy sunrise. I try to keep up with laundry, food prep and other jobs around home. Grabbing a nap may be the highlight of the day. The appointments on the calendar for hubby and me are mostly with doctors now. My day winds down by about 3:00 PM, I retire to my chair with my crocheting and TV. I’m off to bed when I can’t hold my eyes open any more. Sometimes as early as 8:00 PM.

So…it would seem I am now in latter season of my life, unprepared for all the aches and pains and the loss of strength and ability. I can’t go and see places and things that I wish I had done before now, but never did!! I played my various parts the best I could in the midst of what all was happening around me and to me. In some scenes of Act One, I was a smash, even garnered some applause. Other times, I forgot my lines, tripped as I came on stage, or did various other stupid things. I did and said things that I wish I had not. The good things done and said, and contributions to my fellowman and my family will go on after the curtain falls on my last act. Hopefully, the stupid things are forgiven and forgotten, by the Lord and everybody else.

None of us knows how long life will last, but while we are still in our right minds and at least somewhat physically able, there is still time for doing well And this much I am fully convinced of: when it’s over here on this Earth for me—-it’s NOT over. New adventures await me, and all who love the Lord, in our new lives with Him.

If you are NOT into Act Two yet, I would remind you, it will be here way sooner than you think. And for all of us, young or old, whatever we would like to accomplish in our life, whatever we need to do to be square with God, we should do it quickly! Don’t put things off too long!! If you are estranged from family, make that call. If you owe someone an apology, say “I’m sorry”. If there’s a friendship you can mend, reach out. Do what you can today. We have no promise that we will see even our next sunrise. Live each day as if it was your last, and at the same time, like you’ve got all the time in the world. Take it easy. Do good. Be at peace with everything and everyone. Don’t worry. Be happy!

The one who handles a matter wisely shall find good; and everyone who trusts in the Lord is happy. Proverbs 16:20

If this is your first time to receive this WSS, I would like to hear your input. I added your name because of this certain message, but will not send another unless I hear from you. The subject matter varies from one week to the next, but is usually an encouragement or observation concerning Christianity.

Charlene Reams Manning

Believer in the Lord Jesus Messiah

Forward any WSS you feel has merit. (without changes, please) Copyright May 2014

Comments are welcome. Subscribe or contact me at: RedHen1944@aol.com

Leave a Reply

