Hearing His Voice

Weekly Sabbath Survey
Hearing His Voice  —  4-5-2014
 
When we say, “God told me” or “I heard the Holy Spirit” some people do not believe this is possible. They allow that He spoke to certain ones of His people in the Bible, but He doesn’t do that any more. 
 
Years ago when I became involved with the Charismatic community, I SAW something about these people that I wanted to be a part of. They were peaceful, happy, loved one another, and had a glow on their faces. AND — they were excited about their faith! Some of them I had known for years and I could SEE they were not the same person. From them, I learned that the outpouring of the Holy Spirit in the Upper Room on the Day of Pentecost meant that God would speak to anybody who loves Him, rather than just a chosen prophet or leader here and there. They told me to practice listening for the Lord’s voice in my heart. They taught that I would learn to know His voice from the thoughts of my own head. The church I grew up in wasn’t big on denouncing other Christian groups, so I had never heard anything bad about the Pentecostal experience. In fact, the wife of the pastor who baptized me was ‘one of them’ and I loved her. Nothing seemed weird about her. So I had a teachable heart right to begin with.
 
In time I began to hear from the Lord directly in my heart. It was kind of hit and miss at first. But I kept going and I learned to discern His voice from my own. I prayed often, “Lord, teach me to hear your voice.” Now at times, a thought drops right into my heart when I’m not thinking about that subject at all. I may exclaim aloud, “Lord, is that you!?!”  As I learned, I began act on things He told me, and things He gave me to do. Obeying. Making a phone to say “I was thinking of you.” Or, writing a note with a word of encouragement. And from there to more difficult assignments, but I was and am determined to obey what He says. I figured I shouldn’t ask Him to talk to me if I didn’t want to do what He says. Sometimes, He just tells me a truth for me to know it, rather than to tell someone else. Once when I had hurt feelings from another Believer’s remarks to me, He said, “Compassion was the heart of the ministry of Jesus. Without it, your ministry will be harsh and condemning.”  I was not doing a ministry at that time, but I as I watched others, I saw that harsh thing now and again. I was learning. As much as I am able, I keep compassion at the center of my interaction with other people.
 
In the beginning of hearing from Him, I was excited to be taught my Him. While I did rely on my new ‘Charismaniac’ friends, His instruction was much sweeter to me than the teaching of other people. I cherished the nuggets He gave me when I read my Bible. As time went along I became as excited to hear His voice as I was about what He said. I regard it as an extraordinary and distinct PRIVILEGE to hear His voice. I have great joy in the fact that He actually speaks to me! I have heard my Savior’s voice.
 
But as exceptional as that makes me feel, I believe that any of us who really wants to can hear God’s voice. He is looking for Believers who will press in close to Him, like the woman who pushed through a crowd people to catch hold of the fringe of His prayer shawl. Or, like Zacchaeus who climbed a tree to get a better look at Him. Or, John, who leaned his head on the Lord’s chest at the Last Supper. All these people got the blessing of touching and being touched by Jesus, and hearing His voice. 
 
The sheep hear the voice of the Shepherd and He calls them by name. When He goes out with His sheep, He walks in front of them and they follow Him because they know His voice. They will not follow a stranger, but will run from him. They will not listen to the voice of a stranger. Luke 3:3-5
 
Charlene Reams Manning
Believer in the Lord Jesus Messiah
 
Forward any WSS you feel has merit. (without changes, please)  
Comments are welcome. Subscribe or contact me at: RedHen1944@aol.com
Leave a Reply

